empire231
March 8th, 2004, 19:30
well most of us have read about those scams w/ ebay and other sellers, from buyers in other countries that wanna pay with cashiers checks, through assistants and all that other crap! well, I'm trying to sell my dads street bike, and it's listed in the recycler...so check out this response I get
alleged scammer:
Subject: 1995 YAMAHA VIRAGO535
Good day seller,
I'm e! nquiring about your said bike.Can you please let me know if it still for sale and also i will like to know the last offering price.
so that payment can be made out to you via .U.S.A cashier check and also make sure you get back to me with the present condition of the bike.hope to hear from you now,my regards to you and your family,
thanks.........
well, I have read about a couple of these on race dez, and here before, so I reply
me:
The lowest I'm willing to go is $2,000, and the bike is in good condition, other than the need for a new fron tire. how can shipping be arranged? I figure it would be pretty costly since you are in britain.
I figured she was in britain since her e-mail ends w/ yahoo.co.uk, so she replys
alleged scammer:
Subject: mode of payment........$8,000
THANKS FOR THE MAIL SO I WILL LIKE YOU TO GET BACK TO ME WITH YOUR PHONE NUMBER
AND ALSO THE PAYMENT WILL BE IN SUM OF $8,000 UNITED STATE CASHIER`S CHECK WHILE YOU DEDUCT
YOUR OWN EXACT AMOUNT OF $2,000 AND SEND THE REST TO MY PERSONAL ASSISTANT VIA WESTERN
UNION MONEY TRANSFER WHO WILL BE PAYING THE SHIPPER
WHO IS GOING TO COME TO YOUR LOCATION FOR THE PICKING UP OF THE ITEM SO IF YOU
ARE OKAY WITH THIS PROCEDURE I WILL LIKE YOU TO GET BACK TO ME WITH YOUR CONTACT
ADDRESS OF WHERE THE CHECK WILL BE SEND TO AND ALSO YOUR PHONE NUMBER,HOPE TO
HEAR FROM YOU NOW,MY REGARDS TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY,
THANKS...........
sooo, I dont know about you guys, but this shure sounds like one of those scams. what do you guys think I should reply? it's kinda fun to mess w/ them. lets here some input.
alleged scammer:
Subject: 1995 YAMAHA VIRAGO535
Good day seller,
I'm e! nquiring about your said bike.Can you please let me know if it still for sale and also i will like to know the last offering price.
so that payment can be made out to you via .U.S.A cashier check and also make sure you get back to me with the present condition of the bike.hope to hear from you now,my regards to you and your family,
thanks.........
well, I have read about a couple of these on race dez, and here before, so I reply
me:
The lowest I'm willing to go is $2,000, and the bike is in good condition, other than the need for a new fron tire. how can shipping be arranged? I figure it would be pretty costly since you are in britain.
I figured she was in britain since her e-mail ends w/ yahoo.co.uk, so she replys
alleged scammer:
Subject: mode of payment........$8,000
THANKS FOR THE MAIL SO I WILL LIKE YOU TO GET BACK TO ME WITH YOUR PHONE NUMBER
AND ALSO THE PAYMENT WILL BE IN SUM OF $8,000 UNITED STATE CASHIER`S CHECK WHILE YOU DEDUCT
YOUR OWN EXACT AMOUNT OF $2,000 AND SEND THE REST TO MY PERSONAL ASSISTANT VIA WESTERN
UNION MONEY TRANSFER WHO WILL BE PAYING THE SHIPPER
WHO IS GOING TO COME TO YOUR LOCATION FOR THE PICKING UP OF THE ITEM SO IF YOU
ARE OKAY WITH THIS PROCEDURE I WILL LIKE YOU TO GET BACK TO ME WITH YOUR CONTACT
ADDRESS OF WHERE THE CHECK WILL BE SEND TO AND ALSO YOUR PHONE NUMBER,HOPE TO
HEAR FROM YOU NOW,MY REGARDS TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY,
THANKS...........
sooo, I dont know about you guys, but this shure sounds like one of those scams. what do you guys think I should reply? it's kinda fun to mess w/ them. lets here some input.