View Full Version : fishy email reply to classifieds add
GFC
April 25th, 2005, 16:52
well i just got what i would consider a scam email, im not even going to spend the time to write a responding email but rather post its content here.
"This message from: andy4mey2k@yahoo.com to ( ad # 12720 )
Hello seller,
I saw your advert and i'm interested in purchasing your Tube frame Baja Bug
with the price;$850
I will want you to get back to me with the following infos.if it is still
available.
1.It's present condition
2.An updated pics{if any**
3.Your last offer.
I will make payment with a check or money order if it is still available.Hope
to hear from you in earnest.
regards,
andy."
DezertRacer32
April 26th, 2005, 09:09
I dont understand? whats wrong with that reply?
Doug
April 26th, 2005, 09:25
Yep, they do that stuff all the time on several different boards that I visit. Don't waste your time responding.
GFC
April 26th, 2005, 18:12
the problem is
"I will make payment with a check or money order "
as can be seen thru other people's experiences, this is clearly the work of a con.
outtacontrazy
April 26th, 2005, 21:47
the onyl way to tell is to have them send you a certified check froma reputable bank like washington mutual, wells fargo , Bof A etc........oir have them western union you the money to your local western union.......
rubberboy
April 27th, 2005, 19:20
It doesnt matter if its from a reputable bank or not it could still be fake check.
klaus
April 27th, 2005, 22:39
also shouldn't it read " I would like to make payment by check" vs. a confident "I will..."
ChuckH
April 27th, 2005, 23:34
plus this
--Hope to hear from you in earnest.--
No one would say that here, there are all kinds of clues that their not from this country.
GFC
April 28th, 2005, 07:21
wow, they are taking another swing and a miss with another email from a different address.
"This message from: olu_cane@yahoo.com to ( ad # 12720 )
Hello,
I saw your advertisement for the sales of your (Bug Project ) , I am
interested in buying. However, your urgent reply is needed so as to hasten the
Transaction if my offer sound nice.Also kindly provide the condition and the
last offering price of the (item)you can also send me the pics if any. if it
will arouse my interest to patronise you. Waiting to hear from you very soon.
Thanks"
i should make up some ungodly price and see what kind of offer I can get them up to, but im not going to.
FullsizeFun
April 28th, 2005, 12:48
Scam.
I get these all the time, and they all sound about the same.
I like to mess with them, kinda like the ebolamonkeyman or whatever.
dunerking
April 28th, 2005, 18:45
So,I have my Toyota 4x4 for-sale and get a reply from "olu cane" from the U.K.saying he is interested in the truck.Then tehy mention of sending a certified check in the some of 7,500.00,subtract the amount of the truck and give them the rest to take care of the transport. Oh yeah and don't forget about the quote "waiting for your favourable reply."So what do you guys think?
rubberboy
April 29th, 2005, 01:20
I responded to one of the emails and actually got some guy to send me a me a check. I googled the bank and found out they had reported that someone was making fake casheirs checks with the correct routing number. So i called the bank and gave them the check number and they said it was fake. Heres a picture of it.
movindirt
April 30th, 2005, 12:55
I responded to one of the emails and actually got some guy to send me a me a check. I googled the bank and found out they had reported that someone was making fake casheirs checks with the correct routing number. So i called the bank and gave them the check number and they said it was fake. Heres a picture of it.
So did the bank want information so they could investigate? Check out this link that was posted in the general forum: http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=253
I hate people who pull scams!!!!!!! :mad:
Tony
mxmobber29
May 1st, 2005, 21:19
i got the same exact fishy email as GFC did. Here it is worded exactley the same way.
This message from: mabmicanders999@yahoo.com to ( ad # 12960 )
Hello,
I saw your advertisement for the sales of your (trussed 9', 64' wide with disk brakes) , I am interested in buying. However, your urgent reply is needed so as to hasten the Transaction if my offer sound nice.Also kindly provide the condition and the last offering price of the (item)you can also send me the pics if any. if it will arouse my interest to patronise you. Waiting to hear from you very soon. Thanks
Bonze2001
May 2nd, 2005, 12:32
Got the same reply to an add I placed. It's those south african scammers most likely. There was a whole thread about them on here about 6 months ago. It's all BS, dont fall for it. Here is a site that explains it all with some funny stories about how the people that these a-holes were trying to scam started screwing with the scammers!
www.ebolamonkeyman.com
-Ryan
klaus
May 2nd, 2005, 12:36
ask for a check..at least it will a. cost them time to deal with it b. cost them money in shipping and handling.
Then if you have time and feel like it waste more of their overhead by responding back and forth....
mxmobber29
May 2nd, 2005, 16:55
haha yeah i think that for wasting my time i am gonna waste his time and see where he want's me to ship it and pretend to go through with it.
Bryan_D
May 2nd, 2005, 17:10
Also kindly provide the condition and the
last offering price of the (item)you can also send me the pics if any. if it
will arouse my interest to patronise you.
Dude anyone that wants me to arouse an intrest for them can take a hike for wording it like this. Plus anyone that thinks this sort of thing would be patronising to them you know for sure is a fake cause they know we all are obsessed with our passion and nothing would make us feel this way. WAJ!
I was thinking about this, you know what might be worth it is to respond to these guys, give them a fake name along with the address to the national check fraud center. Then those idiots will be sending all the checks to the people that investigate this sort of stuff. :D They probably won't get caught, but you never know. I looked it up and here is the address:
National Check Fraud Center
Post Office Box 80171
Charleston, S. C. 29416
Just change it to:
John Smith
Post Office Box 80171
Charleston, S. C. 29416
thecos
May 6th, 2005, 12:53
what they are doing is called "phishing". it is a technique used to gain personal info. it is also used in ebay. Just DO NOT RESPONSED those fishy looking email. It will only contribute to their "email list". The "email list" will then be sold to marketing agencies, they will then do a mass email listing - "junk mail".
I have about 2 email accounts dedicated to junk mail and weed out the good ones that look good but also using it to replying with, only to use my junk accounts.
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.